### MINUTES OF AN ANNUAL GENERAL MEETING

# **SQUASH AUSTRALIA**

# HELD AT THE HOLIDAY INN, BRISBANE

### **SATURDAY 12 MARCH 2005**

**Present:** John Holland President

Sandie Davis Vice President (Female) Richard Best Vice President (Male)

Steve Derbyshire Director Carol Kawaljenko Director

Neil Almond NT WA Stephen Bowen NSW Magada Cawthorne Chris Doig TAS Ross Jones **ACT** Ian Kent VIC QLD Alex Petrovansky Kim Schramm **OLD** Richard Tisher SA Paul Vear **VIC** 

Norman Fry CEO Gordon Dexter MLO

Geoff Hunt HP Manager

Greg Hutchings NCM
John Small NRD
Jacqueline Souwer FAO
Larissa Williams AA
Jeff Wollstein NCD

Mike Cornish NCC
Byron Davis AIS
Geoff Davenport NCC
Barbara De Bruine NCC

Col Clapper Life Member / Oceania

Roger Flynn NCC
Sarah Fitz-Gerald Guest
Don Huffer NCC
Karen Morrissey NCC
Des Panizza NCC
Kaye Reeves NCC
Ken Watson Guest

# ITEM ONE: OPENING BY THE CHAIRMAN

1. The Chairman opened the meeting at 10.35am and welcomed all attendees.

## **ITEM TWO: APOLOGIES**

2. The following apologies were received:

Chris Dittmar Patron

Bob Finch Life Member

### ITEM THREE: PREVIOUS MINUTES

3. The previous minutes were read and confirmed.

Moved Richard Tisher Seconded Kim Schramm

Carried

# ITEM FOUR: MATTERS ARISING FROM THE PREVIOUS MINUTES

# **QAS Proposal**

4. The CEO Squash Australia advised the meeting that the QAS would be meeting on 23 March 2005 and a decision regarding the inclusion of Squash into the QAS program would be made at that meeting. The decision will be advised to Members via email.

#### Action

CEO Squash Australia

### ITEM FIVE: NOTICES OF MOTION

- 5. The CEO Squash Australia spoke to a notice of motion regarding the date for the conduct of the 2006 AGM.
- 6. The reason for the motion was that the normal date for the 2006 AGM is due to fall during the 2006 Commonwealth Games. Many squash personnel and organisations will be busy preparing for and then involved in the conduct of the Games.
- 7. The motion presented was "The Members at the 2005 AGM approve the 2006 AGM being conducted in April 2006 which is outside the three month period subsequent to the close of the previous financial year and contrary to Clause 8.1 of the Articles of Association".
- 8. The motion was agreed for the 2006 AGM.

Moved Richard Best Seconded Kim Schramm

Carried

# ITEM SIX: PRESIDENT'S REPORT

9. The President gave his Annual Report (Full version in the 2004 written Annual Report given to all attendees). The President's report emphasised the importance of the introduction of Matrix, the Commonwealth Games preparation, and the use of volunteers. He also thanked the staff for their contribution.

10. It was moved that the President's Report be accepted.

Moved Steve Derbyshire

Seconded Ian Kent Carried

## ITEM SEVEN: FINANCIAL REPORT

11. Members had been sent the Financials and Audit Report 28 days prior to the meeting. There were no questions regarding the report.

12. It was moved that the financial report for 2004 be accepted.

Moved Richard Tisher Seconded Steve Derbyshire

Carried

### ITEM EIGHT: ELECTION OF OFFICERS

13. Squash Australia had called for nominations for the following Board appointments:

a. Vice President (Male); and

b. Director (one position).

14. The nominations received at the closing date were:

a. Vice President (Male) Mr Richard Best (NSW)

Mr Ian Kent (VIC)

b. Director Mrs Carol Kawaljenko (NT)

Mrs Barabra Slotemaker de Bruine (ACT)

Mr Ian Kent (VIC)

- 15. Mr Ian Kent advised the meeting that he withdrew his nomination as at the time of submitting his application it was not clear if the incumbents were going to stand again. As they are willing to continue and he was completely satisfied with the way the Board was managing the Sports affairs, he withdrew his nomination for both appointments. The President acknowledged Mr Kent's decision and thanked him on behalf of the meeting.
- 16. Mr Richard Best (NSW) was elected as Vice President (Male) unopposed.
- 17. A ballot for was then conducted for the appointment of Director with the following candidates:
- a. Mrs Carol Kawaljenko (NT); and
- b. Mrs Barabara Slotemaker de Bruine (ACT).
- 18. Mr Gordon Dexter and Ms Sarah Fitz-Gerald were appointed as scrutineers.

19. Mrs Carol Kawaljenko was elected as a Director.

## ITEM NINE: CONFIRMATION OF PATRON

20. The President briefed the meeting that Mr Chris Dittmar had agreed to continue in the role of Patron for 2005, meeting accepted.

Moved Richard Tisher Seconded Richard Best Carried

#### ITEM TEN: CONFIRMATION OF AUDITOR

21. The 2004 auditor had confirmed that he was available to conduct the 2005 audit. The meeting confirmed Mr Bevan Schafferius, CNS Partners, 25 Samford Road, Alderly QLD 4051 as the 2005 auditor.

Moved Steve Derbyshire Seconded Richard Tisher

Carried

#### ITEM ELEVEN: ELECTION OF SELECTION COMMITTEES

- 22. **Selection Committee (Men).** Nominations (Men's three nominations) Mr Byron Davis (AIS), Mr Roger Flynn (VIC), Mr Geoff Davenport (SA). Mr Dean Landy had advised that he would not be standing.
- 23. The following people were confirmed as Members of the National Selection Committee (Male) for the next two years:

Mr Geoff Davenport (SA) Mr Byron Davis (AIS) Mr Roger Flynn (VIC)

### ITEM TWELVE: CONFIRMATION OF AFFILIATION FEES

24. The CEO advised the meeting that all members had signed the Memorandum of Understanding regarding the Affiliation Fees for 2005. It was moved to confirm the figures set out in the Memorandum.

Moved Kim Schramm Seconded Chris Doig Carried

#### ITEM THIRTEEN: DIRECTORS/MANAGERS REPORTS

25. The President directed member's attention to the Directors/Managers reports detailed in the 2004 Annual report and invited AGM attendees to raise any questions they had. There were no questions. No Director/Manager wished to speak to their report.

# ITEM FOURTEEN: 2004 ANNUAL REPORT

26. The President asked the meeting if there were any questions regarding the Squash Australia 2004 Annual Report. There were none. The 2004 Annual Report was passed.

Moved

Richard Tisher Richard Best Carried

# ITEM FIFTEEN: OTHER BUSINESS

27. There was no other business.

# ITEM SIXTEEN: MEETING CLOSURE AND ARRANGEMENT FOR THE NEXT MEETING

28. The President declared the meeting closed at 11.00am. Details of the next meeting (April 2006) will be advised to Members by email.

John Holland Chairman Norman Fry CEO