MINUTES OF AN ANNUAL GENERAL MEETING

SQUASH AUSTRALIA

HELD AT THE MEDINA HOTEL SYDNEY

SATURDAY 29 MARCH 2003

Present: John Holland Chairman

Sandie Davis Vice Chairman (Female)

Richard Best Director Steve Derbyshire Director

Chris Bennett NSW

John Cameron Life Member

Mike Cornish **NCC** Richard Colbran **NSW** Ross Jones **ACT** Carol Kawaljenko NT Ian Kent **VIC** Geoff Lucas **TAS** Greg Middleton **NSW** Kaye Reeves **NCC** Kim Schramm QLD Chris Sinclair Referees Ray Smith WARichard Tisher SAAnne Turnbull QLD Paul Vear VIC

Norman Fry CEO Gordon Dexter MLO

Geoff Hunt HP Manager

Greg Hutchings NCM
John Small NRD
Jacqueline Souwer FAO
Jeff Wollstein NCD

ITEM ONE: OPENING BY THE CHAIRMAN

1. The Chairman opened the meeting at 10.12am and welcomed all attendees. Special welcome extended to Mr John Cameron (Life Member).

ITEM TWO: APOLOGIES

2. The following apologies were received:

Chris Dittmar Patron Scott Jarvis WA

Heather McKay Life Member Col Clapper Life Member

ITEM THREE: PREVIOUS MINUTES

3. The previous minutes were read and confirmed with the following amendment:

a. Attendees. Insert "Chris Sinclair"

Moved Kim Schramm Seconded Carol Kawaljenko

Carried

ITEM FOUR: MATTERS ARISING FROM THE PREVIOUS MINUTES

4. There were no matters arising from the previous minutes.

ITEM FIVE: CHAIRMAN'S REPORT

- 5. The Chairman gave his Annual Report (Full version in the 2002 written Annual Report given to all attendees). The Chairman's report emphasised the positive year for both Squash Australia and Squash in Australia. He thanked Mr Ross Barry (retired CEO) for his efforts and the other staff (Anne Turnbull and Carolyn Proud) who had also left the employment of Squash Australia.
- 6. He spoke about the Board Members and their efforts through the year to provide support to Squash. Acknowledged the achievements of Sarah Fitz-Gerald during 2002. The Chairman commented on the excellent results of the Australian Team at the Commonwealth Games winning medals in every event.
- 7. The Chairman covered the AIS Squash Program review and its likely consequences. He noted the wonderful standard it had achieved and is now maintaining. The IT strategy was underway and would continue with an IT presentation during the weekend.
- 8. The Chairman finished by thanking Members for their increased level of cooperation and requested them to keep improving the relationship.
- 9. It was moved that the Chairman's Report be accepted.

Moved Richard Tisher Seconded Geoff Hunt Carried

ITEM SIX: FINANCIAL REPORT

- 10. Members had been sent the Financials and Audit Report 28 days prior to the meeting. Mr Derbyshire invited questions from the floor. Mrs Anne Turnbull (QLD) requested clarification of the amount listed in the "Receivables" on page of the Financial Statement. Mr Derbyshire explained the large difference between the 2001 and the 2002 figures.
- 11. It was moved that the Financial report be accepted.

Moved Geoff Lucas Seconded Carol Kawaljenko

Carried

ITEM SEVEN: CHANGES TO THE ARTICLES

- The Chairman briefed the meeting on the reason why the Articles required revision and why the "Chairman" appointment needed to go back to being "President".
- It was moved that the Revised Articles of Association which had been sent to Members prior to the meeting be accepted with following amendment; Clause 4.5 – delete 4.6 in body of paragraph and insert 4.5.

Moved Richard Best Steve Derbyshire Seconded

Carried

ITEM EIGHT: ELECTION OF OFFICERS/SELECTORS

- 14. The Chairman reminded the Members who the candidates were for the different appointments that were vacant. Mrs Chris Sinclair and Mr John Cameron were appointed scrutineers.
- **Deputy President (Male).** Nominations Mr Richard Best. No other nomination Mr Best 15. was duly elected.
- Director (Board Member). Nominations Mrs Carol Kawaljenko, Mrs Anne Turnbull and 16. Mr Richard Best. Mr Best withdrew his nomination having been selected earlier to the Board as a Vice President. A secret ballot was conducted using printed ballot papers and Mrs Carol Kawaljenko was appointed to the Board. The ballot papers were destroyed by the scrutineers as agreed by the meeting.
- **Selection Committees (Men and Women).** Nominations (Mens four nominations) Mr Byron Davis, Mr Roger Flynn, Mr Dean Landy and Mr Kim Schramm. (Women's – five nominations) Mr Roger Flynn, Ms Dawn Moggach, Ms Kaye Reeves, Mr Kim Schramm and Mrs Anne Trurnbull. A secret ballot was conducted using printed ballot papers electing male/female selectors alternately. The following were selected.
- Women's Selection Committee a.

Ms Dawn Moggach

Ms Kave Reeves

Mr Kim Schramm

Men's Selection Committee b.

Mr Byron Davis

Mr Roger Flynn

Mr Dean Landy

The Chairman welcomed the selectors on behalf of the meeting. The ballot papers were destroyed by the scrutineers as agreed by the meeting.

ITEM NINE: AFFILIATION FEES

The meeting was advised by the Chairman that all members had now signed the Memorandum 19. of Understanding regarding the Affiliation Fees for 2003. It was moved to confirm the figures set out in the Memorandum.

> Moved Geoff Lucas Carol Kawalienko Seconded

Carried

ITEM TEN: OTHER BUSINESS

Patron

20. The Chairman moved to confirm Mr Chris Dittmar as the Patron for 2003. Seconded Richard Best and Carried.

ITEM ELEVEN: MEETING CLOSURE

21. The Chairman declared the meeting closed at 10.45am.

John Holland Chairman Norman Fry CEO