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Notes: 
1. Questions relate to Point-a-Rally (PAR) scoring system to 11 points and, at 10 all, the winner of the next point 

wins the game. 
2. Each correct answer scores one mark, unless shown otherwise. 
3. There are two Sections in this examination. 

A score of 85% or more for each Section is required to pass the Examination. 
If you do not pass one section you are only required to re-sit that section. 

4. The examination should take about 1 to 1½ hours to complete. However, 2 hours are allowed. 
5. You must pass this Officiating Examination (and any other Modules as required) before commencing 

practical assessment. 
6. Players are referred to in the questions by their Team and their service order. E.g. A1 plays for Team A and 

serves first, B2 plays for Team B and is the second server. 
 
 

RESULT PASS/FAIL 

Section Marks Maximum % P F P F 

1  50      

2  50      

 
 

A score of 85% or more for each Section is required to pass. 
Transfer percentages for all Sections to this page. 

The corrected Paper is to be returned to candidates. 
Associations are to retain pages 1 and 2. 

 
 

QUESTIONS NOT ANSWERED COMPLETELY/CORRECTLY 

INITIAL EXAMINATION RE-SIT 

Questions Questions 

  

  

 
 

Paper marked by  

Date  

Candidate advised by  

Date  
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Candidate’s Name  

 
 

SECTION  ONE 
 
 

Place an ‘X‘ in the square for the correct answer 
 
 

D 1. What call should the Marker make when the serving Team has lost the rally? 
     Rule Ref. 

4.1, 
App3.1  Handout, (plus score)  Side-out, (plus score) 

 
D 2. Indicate what time periods are allowed for the following and whether a 15-second advisory call must be 
made.  

 
  15-second 

advisory 
call 

90 secs 2½ 
mins 

3 mins None 

3.1 a) Duration of warm up for the 
Team which warms up first 

     

3.1 b) Duration of warm up for the 
Team which warms up second 

     

7.2 & 7.4 c) 
Interval between end of both 
Teams warming up and start of 
play 

     

7.2 & 7.4 d) 
Interval between games 

     

16.2, G14 e) 
A player suffers cramp 
      

16.3.5 f) 
A1 is injured due to a collision 
with A2 
 

     

7.3, G1 g) 
A player loses a contact lens 
      

10 marks (marks will be deducted for missing answers) 
 

D 3. The choice of which Team warms up first or second is decided by:  
 

3.1 
 The Referee  The spin of a racket 

 
 

D 4. If warming up the ball after a delay (e.g. injury), how many players may be on court:  
 

3.2 
 Any number of players  Only 1 player from each Team 

 
 

D 5. Once a Team indicates its serving order can it be changed once the match has started: 
 

4.1 
 Yes  No 
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D 6. Can the winner of the spin of the racket decide whether to serve or receive to start the match: 
 

4.1 
 Yes  No 

 
 

D 7. Which player serves at the start of the first game: 
 

4.1 
 Team member 

nominated as first 
server 

 Team member 
nominated as second 
server 

 Either Team member 

 
 

D 8. If the first serve of the match is from the right box who must receive: 
 

4.3 
 Team member nominated to receive 

from the left side. 
 Either Team member 

 
 

D 9. Team A won the first game. Which player serves at the start of the second game: 
 

4.1 
 Either Team member  The second server 

from Team A 
 The first server from 

Team A 
 
 

D 10. A2 attempts to return the serve but misses. Can A1 then attempt to return the ball: 
 

4.3  Yes  No 

 
 

D 11. When can a Team decide to change sides for receiving service: 
 

4.3  At the start of a new game  At the start of any rally if the opposing 
Team agrees 

 
 

D 12. A1 serves and B2 returns the serve. Who must return the next ball: 
 

5 
 A2  Either A1 or A2 

 
 

D 13. A1 serves at 10-9 in the first game. Team B wins the rally.  What is the markers call: 
 

2 
 Handout, 10-all, Set 1  Handout, 10-all, Game Ball 

 
D 14. In a match played to the best of three games, Team A is leading one game to love. A2 serves at 10-9 in 
the second game. Team B wins the rally.  What is the markers call: 

 
2 
App 2 
App3.1 

 Handout, 10-all, Game Ball, Match 
Ball 

 Handout, 10-all, Match Ball, Game 
Ball 
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D 15. A1 drops the racket during a rally. What is the Referee’s decision if: 
 

a. The racket was dropped not as a result of a collision with an opponent: 
 

7.7.1, 
G3  Allow a Let  Award a Stroke to Team B 

 
b. The racket was dropped as a result of a collision with A2:  

 
7.7.1, 
G3  Allow a Let  Award a Stroke to Team B 

c. The racket was dropped as a result of a collision with an opponent: 
 

7.7.1, 
G3  Allow a Let  Award a Stroke to Team B 

d. The racket was dropped as A2 was in the process of hitting a winning return: 
 

7.7.3, 
G3  Allow a Let  Award the rally to Team A. 

 
D 16. B1 removes the eyeguards from the correct position over the eyes during a rally, and holds them. What 
action should the Referee take if this was not done as a result of a collision with an opponent:  

 
 

7.7.1, 

G3 

 Allow play to 
continue 

 Call ‘Stop, Stroke to 
Team A’ 

 Call ‘Stop, Yes Let’ 

 
 

D 17. A1 stops and appeals for a let for distraction. If the Referee agrees there was distraction, what should the 
Referee's decision be if 

 
a. The distraction came from a player in Team B, and A1 was not in a position to hit a winning 

return: 
 

13.1.3 
 Allow a let  Disallow the appeal 

 
b. The distraction came from a player in Team B, and A1 could have hit a winning return: 

 
13.1.3 

 Allow a let  Award the rally to Team A. 

 
c. The distraction was a noise from another court: 

 
13.1.3 

 Allow a let  Disallow the appeal 

 
 

D 18. A1 hits the ball (on the first attempt and without having turned or allowed the ball to pass around the 
body), but before the ball hits the front wall it strikes A2. What is the Referee’s decision if: 

 
a. The ball was headed directly towards the front wall and neither opposition player was causing 

any interference to A2: 
 

8.5  Let  Stroke to Team A  Stroke to Team B 

 
b. The ball was headed directly towards the front wall but an opponent was accidentally preventing 

A2 from moving clear: 
 

8.5  Let  Stroke to Team A  Stroke to Team B 



 ________________________________________________________________________________  
January 2009 Doubles Officiating Examination Page 6 of 15. 

 
 

D 19. A1 hits a ball which strikes the side wall very close to the Out line. The Marker calls ‘Out’. Which player 
from Team A may appeal this decision:  

 

11.2.1  A1 only  A2 only  Either A1 or A2 

 
D 20. A player in Team B hits the ball on the first attempt, but before it reaches the front wall the ball strikes a 
player in Team A. What is the Referee’s decision if: 

 
a. The ball was headed directly towards the front wall and would have been a good return: 

 

9.1, G4  Let  Stroke to Team A  Stroke to Team B 

 
b. The ball was headed towards a side wall and would not have been a good return: 

 

9.2  Let  Stroke to Team A  Stroke to Team B 

 
c. The ball would have been a winning return: 

 

9.3  Let  Stroke to Team A  Stroke to Team B 

 
d. The striker turned before hitting the ball directly to the front wall and the referee considered the 

striker’s action to be dangerous: 
 

9.4, 9.5  Award an appropriate 
conduct penalty. 

 Let  Stroke to Team B 

 
D 21. B1 follows the ball around and turns and would have been able to make a good return directly to the front 
wall, but stops and appeals for a let because an opposition player is in danger of being struck by the ball. What 
should the Referee’s decision be: 

 

10.3.1  Disallow the appeal  Allow a Let  Stroke to Team B 

 
D 22. A1 strikes at the ball but misses. The ball then touches a player from the opposing Team. What should the 
Referee’s decision be if: 

 
a. In the Referee’s opinion either A1 or A2 could have made a good return: 

 

10.1.1  Allow a let  Stroke to Team A  Stroke to Team B 
 

b. In the Referee’s opinion neither A1 nor A2 could have made a good return: 
 

10.1.2  Allow a let  Stroke to Team A  Stroke to Team B 
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D 23. Which of the Marker’s calls are correct:  

 
a. At the end of a game:  

 

G18  Out, Game  Out, 10-7, game to 
Team A. Team A 
leads one game to 
love. 

 Out, 10-7, game to 
Team A. 

 
b. At the start of the 3rd game where both teams have won one game each and Team B won the 

2nd game:  
 

G18  One game all, love-all  One game all, Team B to serve, love-
all 

 
 

D 24. Whose responsibility is it to ensure that all players are correctly wearing protective eyeguards at all times 
they are on the court:  

 

1,20.9, 
App6 

 The Referee  The Players  The Tournament 
Director 

 
D 25. A1 sustains a genuine injury during play. What initial recovery time is allowed in the following cases: 

 
 

a. A1 was hit by A2’s racket, but there is no blood: 
 

 16.3.4  3 minutes  1 hour  None 

 
b. A1 was hit by A2’s racket, and there is blood: 

 

16.1.2  3 minutes  Up to 30 minutes.   None 

 
c. An opposition team member has contributed to the injury: 

 

16.3.5  3 minutes  1 hour and such 
additional time as the 
time schedule of the 
competition permits 

 

None 

 
d. B1's racket has accidentally flown out of  the hand and hit A1: 

 

 16.3.6  3 minutes  1 hour  
None, if the injured 
player needs any time 
to recover, award 
match to Team A 

 
 

D 26. B1 served the rally and the Referee stops play and awards a Conduct Stroke against B2. Which player 
serves the next rally: 

 

17.3.2  B1  A2  A1 

 
D 27. B2 served the rally which was won by Team B. Before B2 serves again the Referee awards a Conduct 
Stroke against B1 for dissent. Which player serves the next rally: 

 

17.3.2  B1  B2  A1 
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Total marks for Section One = 50 
 

SECTION ONE 

Result =  
 

= % 

50 

(43 marks > 85%) 
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SECTION  TWO 
 

RULE 12 - INTERFERENCE 
Write your answers in the spaces provided under each question 

 
D 28. The player whose turn it is to play the ball is entitled to freedom from interference by the opponents. To 
avoid interference, with what must both the opponents make every effort to provide the striker?  

 

12.2.1 
12.2.2 
12.2.3 
 

 

3 marks 
 
 
 

D 29. Whilst playing the ball A1 touches B1 with the racket in a reasonable follow-through. A2 appeals for a let 
for Team A. What is the Referee’s decision and why?  

 

 Decision      

  12.5.2 
Reason 
 

 

 

2 marks 
 
 
 
 

D 30. Both B1 and B2 approach the middle of the court to play the ball that A2 has played back toward the 
body. Though A2 makes a reasonable effort to avoid interference, there is interference to both B1 and B2's 
reasonable swing and they appeal for a let simultaneously. Both were able to make a good, but not winning return. 
What is the Referee’s decision and why? 

 
 

Decision      

12.2, G6, 
12.5.2 
 

Reason 

. 

 

 

3 marks
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D 31. Both A1 and A2 move to play the ball. A1's direct access to the ball is impeded by B1 who is making a 
reasonable effort to avoid the interference. A2 has a direct path to get to and play the ball. A1 and A2 stop and 
appeal for a let simultaneously.  What is the Referee’s decision and why? 

 
 

Decision      

12.2, G6, 
12.12 
 

Reason 
 

 

3 marks 
 
 
 
 

D 32. B1 hits the ball down the centre of the court. Both players in Team A shape to hit the ball, but both let it 
go past, expecting the other to hit it. Neither B1 nor B2 is causing any interference to the players in Team A. Both 
players in Team A stop and appeal for a let simultaneously.  What is the Referee’s decision and why?  

 
 

Decision      

12.7.1 
 Reason 

 

 

           2 marks 
 
 
 
 

D 33. A1 refrains from playing the ball (on the first attempt and not having turned or allowed it to pass around 
the body) which had come from a cross court shot played by B1. A1 would clearly have made a good return 
directly to the front wall but would have struck B2 who had been making an effort to avoid interference. What is 
the Referee’s decision and why?  

 
 

Decision      

 

 
 
12.9.2 
12.9.2 
12.9.1 
G6 

Reason 
 

4 marks 
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D 34. A1 refrains from playing the ball (on the first attempt and not having turned or allowed it to pass around 
the body) which B2 had played back close to the body. A1 would clearly have made a good return directly to the 
front wall but would have struck B2 who made no effort at all to avoid the interference. What is the Referee’s 
decision and why?  

 
 

Decision      

 

 
 
12.8.1 
 
12.8.1 
 
G6 

Reason 

 

3 marks 
 
 
 

D 35. A1 hits the ball from the front right corner through the middle of the court. A2 is struck by the ball that 
B2 could clearly have played, but B2’s position may have prevented A2 from clearing away from the ball. The 
ball was most unexpected and A2 had no time to clear.  What is the Referee’s decision and why?  

 
 

Decision      

12.9.1, 
G7 
 

Reason 

. 

 

 

           3 marks 
 
 
 

D 36. A1 hits the ball from the front right corner through the middle of the court. A2 is struck by the ball that 
B2 could clearly have played. B1 and B2 were well clear of A2. The ball was most unexpected and A2 had no 
time to avoid being hit by the ball.  What is the Referee’s decision and why?  

 
 

Decision      

G4 para 
2 
 

Reason 
 

 

 

           3 marks 
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D 37. A1 hits the ball from the front right corner through the middle of the court. Although A2 manages to 
swerve to avoid being struck by the ball, A2 is in B2’s reasonable swing and B2 asks for a let.  What is the 
Referee’s decision and why?  

 
 

Decision      

12.9.1 
 
G6 

Reason 
 

 

 

 

           2 marks 
 
 

D 38. A1 hits the ball from the front right corner through the middle of the court. B2 is in position to make a 
good return and A2 makes no effort to avoid causing interference to B2’s reasonable swing and B2 asks for a let.  
What is the Referee’s decision and why?  

 
 

Decision      

12.8.1 
 
G6 

Reason 

. 

 

 

 

           3 marks 
 
 
 

D 39. B1, moving directly to the ball, accidentally bumps into A1 who is making a reasonable effort to get out 
of the way. B1 continues moving to the ball toward the back of the court. The ball then bounces awkwardly and 
B1 stops and appeals for a let claiming direct access to the ball had been obstructed. What is the Referee’s 
decision and why?  

 
 

Decision      

12.7.3 
 Reason 

 

 

           2 marks 
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D 40. A1 hits the ball from the front right corner through the middle of the court. B2 swings at the ball but 
misses. A2 is then struck by the ball. B1 would have been able to make a good return. What is the Referee’s 
decision and why?  

 
 

Decision      

10.1.1 
 Reason 

 

 

           2 marks 
 
 

D 41. A1 hits the ball into the front forehand corner but the shot is loose. A1 has time to clear the shot but does 
not make a reasonable attempt to do so.  B2 stops and appeals for a let. What is the Referee’s decision and why?  

 
 

Decision      

12.8.2, 
G6 
G8 
 

Reason 
 

 

 

           2 marks 
 
 
 

D 42. B1 plays a drop shot into the front backhand corner and then makes a reasonable effort to provide A2 
with direct access to the ball. A2 then changes direction and creates interference by bumping into B1, and then 
appeals for a let. What is the Referee’s decision and why?  

 
 

Decision      

12.7.4, 
G12 
 

Reason 
 

 

 

           2 marks 
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D 43. A1 shapes to play a ball that has rebounded off the back wall. Both B1 and B2 are clear of A1’s 
reasonable swing and are not in danger of being struck by the ball. However A2 is in danger of being struck by the 
ball. A1 refrains from playing the ball and appeals for a let.  What is the Referee’s decision and why?  

 
 

Decision      

12.7.5 
 Reason 

 

 

 

 

           2 marks 
 
 

D 44. During a rally, A1 has just made a good return across court. A2 then shapes to play the ball and at the last 
second withdraws the racket. B2 would clearly have been able to make a good return but stops and appeals for a 
let.   What is the Referee’s decision and why?  

 
 

Decision      

12.8.2 
 Reason. 

 

 

 

           2 marks 
 
 
 
 

D 45. A1 hits the ball from the front right corner through the middle of the court. A2 is taken by surprise and 
jumps the ball that B2 could have hit. B2 stops and asks for a let.  What is the Referee’s decision and why?  

 
 

Decision      

12.9.1, 
G7 
 

Reason 
 

 

 

           2 marks 
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D 46. A1 hits a cross court drive which hits the nick and rolls out. Both B1 and B2 attempt to play the ball but 
both are obstructed from getting to the ball by A2. B1 and B2 simultaneously appeal for a let.  What is the 
Referee’s decision and why?  

 
 

Decision      

12.7.2 
 Reason. 

 

 

 

           2 marks 
 
 

D 47. A1 hits the ball down the forehand wall and makes a reasonable effort to provide direct access for the 
striker (B2), but B1 is preventing A1 from making this clearance. B2 refrains from striking the ball and appeals 
for a let.  What is the Referee’s decision and why?  

 
 

Decision      

12.9.1 
 Reason 

. 

 

 

           3 marks 
 
 
 
 

 

Total marks for Section Two = 50 
 
 

SECTION TWO 

Result =  
 

= % 

50 

(43 marks > 85%) 
 
 


