

Welcome to the 15<sup>th</sup> edition of the KZNTennis Association newsletter. As Leonard predicted in his 2017 Xmas message, we have started the year guns blazing so without further ado, herewith latest news in our province for the past 2 months

KZN Tennis held a council meeting late December which was followed by a combined KZNTA and ETA Xmas lunch.





Glenashley club wanted proof that Colin Shaw had a legit excuse to miss a league match. "Here's the proof" he said. Colin, and Lucas Pouille in pic who lost to Roberto Agut in the final at the Dubai ATP in Feb.





And the rest of the KZNT/ETA crew: top row from left Gary Comins, Natalie Grandin, Karen Blaunfeldt, Rudi Kimmie, Debashan Reddy, Sharon and Gary Brown, Dave Vincent. Front row from left: Michael Jacquet, Lynda Oosthuizen, Kim Hayes, Pam and Lennie Peters

	<u>U10 Girls</u>					
Winner	Simangele Stanton					
Runner up	Emily Wakefield					
	U12 Girls Platinum					
Winner	Alexandra Uys					
Runner up	Rebeeca Macquet					
	<u>U12 Girls Gold</u>					
Winner	Sophia Solodovnicova-Singh					
Runner up	Willemien Kotze					
	<u>U14 Girls Platinum</u>					
Winner	Mari-Louise Van Zyl					
Runner up	Anna Wise					
	<u>U14 Girls Gold</u>					
Winner	Amahle Fihlela					
Runner up	Bongeka Hlongwane					
	<u>U16 Girls Platinum</u>					
Winner	Georgia Hoskings					
Runner up	Kiara Mackay					
	<u>U16 Girls Gold</u>					
Winner	Kalinke Botma					
Runner up	Deone Goussard					

## Dunlop Mini 9-11 Feb Results



	U10 Boys			
Winner	Daniel Charlesworth			
Runner up	Matt Brooker			
	<u>Doubles</u>			
Winner	Matt Brooker and Daniel Charlesworth			
Runner up	Daniel Urquhart and Luke Mackay-Les			
	<u>U12 Boys</u>			
Winner	Connor Doig			
Runner up	Johan Labuschagne			
	<u>U12 Boys Gold</u>			
Winner	Chris Johnson			
Runner up	Finn Coningham			
	<u>U14 Boys Platinum</u>			
Winner	Mesharan Govender			
Runner up	Caleb Fyvie			
	U14 Boys Gold			
Winner	Sinethemba Mgabhi			
Runner up	Manqoba			
	<u>U16 Boys Platinum</u>			
Winner	Thomas Rey			
Runner up	Jake Carter			
	11465 0.11			
<b>NA</b> (************************************	U16 Boys Gold			
Winner	Meerten Van Wyk			
Runner up	Shail Chetty			
	Open Mens Platinum			
Minner				
Winner	Thembo Makhanya			
Runner up	Richard Hartmann			
	Open Mons Gold			
Winner	<u>Open Mens Gold</u> Sibulele Nchukana			
Runner up	Manqoba Khumalo			

U13 KZN A and B sides for 2018.

Of particular interest is the inclusion of Siyabonga Jaca who made the A side. Siyabonga is in the Growthpoint TSA development centre at Westridge. Kudos to the development coach Emmanuel Ngema. Well done to all the little ones who did so well.





Boys A:

Guy Vorwerk, Connor Doig, Joseph Rey, Caleb Fyvie, Siyabonga Jaca, Senthen Reddy.

B:

Ross Boast, Alex van Eeden, Matthew Wilson, William Hermelin, Thando Tshili, Nthando Ngcobo.

Girls A:

Anna Wise, Kaitlyn Ramduth, Savanna Ingledew, Brooke Veenstra, Ashtyn Cason, Keira Naidoo.

B:

Lexi Uys, Eryn Baird, Rebecca Macquet, Isabella Wilson, Yenzokuhle Dladla, Khethelo Ngcobo. Gary Brown, President of ETA, was on fine form. He complimented his wife on her fine flower arrangements and then said if any of us needed flowers for a funeral, we know who to contact....luckily Sharon has been married to his sense of humour for many years.











	U19 A BOYS	School	U19A GIRLS	School	U15A BOYS	School	U15A GIRLS	School
1	Kade Mindry	Kearsney	Courtney Fyfie	St Mary's	Alex Edley	Curro Hillcrest	Jaime Jones	St Henry's
2	Louis vd Westhuizen	Westville	Kelsey Jones	St Henry's	James Edley	Curro Hillcrest	Kylie Misdorp	DGC
3	Hayden Kasaris	Glenwood	Kiara Mac Kay	St Mary's	Thomas Rey	Curro Hillcrest	Storm Veenstra	St Annes
4	Jahar Persad	Glenwood	Emma Lloyd	DGC	Luc Koenig	Clifton	Marylyn Cotton	Howick
5	William Norton	Michaelhouse	Cassidy Naicker	Curro Hillcrest	Kallen Ramiah	Westville	Amahle Fihlela	Tisand Tech High
6	SachinThirboan	Curro Hillcrest	Caitlyn Naiker	Curro Hillcrest	Karan Varyani	Clifton	Nonhlanhla Ngcobo	Durban G Sec
	U19 B BOYS	School	U19 CBGIRLS	School	U15 B Boys	School	U15 B Girls	School
1	Jordan Theron	Northwood	Milan Comely	Grace	Calum Jestin	Clifton	Vanya Manchev	TWC
2	Paul McLellan	Michaelhouse	Lisa Mc Kenzie	Epworth	Joshua Heath	Michaelhouse	Sophia Hulett	DGC
3	Cornell Klopper	Glenwood	Ashley Starmer	TWC	Joe Hill	Hilton	Chloe Morton	Epworth
4	Joshua Edgar	Curro Hillcrest	Chloe King	DGC	Alex Styan	Maritzburg College	Emily Cobbold	Epworth
5	Abdul Karime	Westville	Yasha Nair	TWC	Nkosiyethu Gumede	Mayville	Anelisiwe Ntuli	Mayville
6	Mpumulelo Maphumulo	Maritzburg College	Sayuri Naidoo	Grantleigh	Caden Naiker	Curro Hillcrest	Awande Mbuli	Hermannsburg
	Reserves							
1	John Burchmore	St Charles	Jade Harty	St Annes	Oliver Naude	Westville	Alex Candler	Howick
2	Sam Black	Hilton	Jessica Brown	La Lucia Crawford	Mesharan Govender	Westville	Anke Roux	Epworth
3	Antonios Patinios	Grantleigh	Ziyaan Dhodha	TWC	Ruben Viviers	Ferrum	Sian Kruger	Fatima

Ncebo Ngema

Ferrum

A Brighter Future – From the Ground Up

KZN U15 and U19 sides for 2018



Brighton Beach Tennis Club made it to the finals of the Growthpoint Top Guns national tournament in February. From the feedback received, they all had an amazing time, all expenses paid at Sun City for the weekend, and a nice cheque as prize money. The club also received R20.000. We hope more clubs enter this prestigious tournament in 2018. Word has it, that a social B-section might be introduced.







tppt.com

Meanwhile, back in the 60's, this Northlands first team were

the best of the best, even with their funny racquets ©

Top row : Jackie Saul , Ellis Andre, Peter Adams, John

Murray, Deryk Kirby

Second row : Ivor Nel, Gordon, Neil Govan, Norman Bunn,

Tim Hornby

3rd row: Allan Saul





March news is already pouring in with news from the Senior Nationals ... chat soon with more success stories. Kim