The State Organisation for the

administration, development and

promotion of Squash in Queensland

(Member of Squash Australia Ltd)



Q Squash Ltd ABN 59 080 596 283

PO Box 3181, Red Hill, Rockhampton Qld 4701

Email: <u>qsquash@live.com</u>

Annual General Meeting of Q Squash Ltd Sunday 10th March 2013 at Sports House Milton **MINUTES**

Commenced : 2.03pm

Attendees: Ros Preston, Alec MacDonald, Sandra Rowcliffe, Shirley Dorricott (President QMSA), Geoff Harris, Nathan Turnbull, Bob Cartwright, Jordan Till, Grant Fraser, Craig Simmich, Colleen Freeme, Ian Freeme, Sue Stock, Michelle Eyles, Larry Rauschenbach, & Robyn Prentice.

Apologies: Darryl Hearn (BR), Cheryl Mountford-Jones (SR), Hugh Taylor (SR), Paula Morris (SR), Sherri Ward (CR), Paul Arscott (CR), Mike Healy (NR), Kay Barclay (NR), Rebecca McDermott (NR).

1. Welcoming address by the President.

Acting President, Ros Preston opened the meeting and welcomed all attendees.

2. Attendance, voting rights, proxies and apologies

See above with respect to attendance and apologies.

Sherri Ward submitted a proxy for Sandra Rowcliffe to vote on her behalf.

Paul Arscott submitted a proxy for Sandra Rowcliffe to vote on his behalf.

Cheryl Mountford-Jones submitted a proxy for Larry Rauschenbach to vote on her behalf.

Hugh Taylor submitted a proxy for Larry Rauschenbach to vote on his behalf.

Paula Morris submitted a proxy for Larry Rauschenbach to vote on her behalf.

Mike Healey submitted a proxy for Alec MacDonald to vote on his behalf.

Kay Barclay submitted a proxy for Alec MacDonald to vote on her behalf.

Rebecca McDermott submitted a proxy for Alec MacDaonld to vote on her behalf.

3. Acceptance of minutes from 2012 AGM

Ros Preston read the minutes from the 2012 AGM.

Business arising from last AGM: The Junior Ranking Policy is up on website but still has some upgrades to be done.

Motion: That the minutes from the 2012 AGM be accepted as read

Moved: Sandra Rowcliffe

Seconded: Alec MacDonald

Motion Carried.

4. President's Report

President, Ros Preston read out her annual report.

Motion: That the President's Report be accepted.

Moved: Sandra Rowcliffe

Seconded: Alec MacDonald

Motion Carried.

5. Treasurer's & Auditor's Reports

Sandra Rowcliffe read out the Treasurer's Report and the Auditor's Report was circulated.

Motion: That the Financial Result as detailed in the Auditor's Report be acepted

Moved: Alec MacDonald

Seconded: Nathan Turnbull

Motion Carried.

6. Appointment of Directors

All positions were declared vacant. Shirley Dorricot was requested to take over the running of the AGM for the election of office-bearers for 2014. With the absence of a CEO after discussion it was also resolved to create an extra directors position on the board.

NOMINATIONS:

Nominations for the Board were invited on the Q Squash Website and were distributed throughout all Qld Centres.

Brisbane Region were unable to vote for nominations. Voting rested with the three other regions who each held four votes (includes Proxy Votes)

PRESIDENT:

Three (3) Nominations were received:

Nathan Turnbull was nominated by Susan Stack and Seconded by Geoff Harris

Bob Cartwright was nominated by Geoff Harris and Seconded by Susie Stack

Ros Preston was nominated by Sandra Rowcliffe and Seconded by Alec MacDonald

A secret ballot was held and Ros Preston was declared the President.

VICE PRESIDENT:

Three (3) Nominations were received:

Larry Rauschenbach was nominated by Hugh Taylor and Seconded by Michelle Eyles

Nathan Turnbull was nominated by Susan Stack and Seconded by Geoff Harris

Bob Cartwright was nominated by Geoff Harris and Seconded by Susie Stack

A secret ballot was held and Larry Rauschenbach was declared the Vice President.

TREASURER:

Three (3) nominations were received:

Bob Cartwright was nominated by Geoff Harris and Seconded by Susie Stack

Nathan Turnbull was nominated by Susan Stack and Seconded by Geoff Harris

Alec MacDonald was nominated by Kay Barclay and Seconded by Mike Healy

A secret ballot was held and Alec MacDonald was declared Treasurer.

DIRECTORS (FOUR POSITIONS):

Four (4) nominations were received:

Ros Preston was nominated by Sandra Rowcliffe and Seconded by Alec MacDonald, withdrawn as Ros has already filled the President's Role.

Alec MacDonald was nominated by Kay Barclay and Seconded by Mike Healy, withdrawn as Alec has already filled the Treasurer's Role.

Paul Arscott (Central Region) Nominated by Sandra Rowcliffe and Seconded by Alec MacDonald.

Michelle Eyles (Southern Region) Nominated by Larry Rauschenbach and Seconded by Hugh Taylor.

Both Paul Arscott and Michelle Eyles were appointed Directors.

For the remaining two positions nominations were taken from the floor:

Director #3 - Nominations were called:

Grant Fraser was nominated Alec MacDonald

Nathan Turnbull was nominated by Michelle Eyles

Robyn Prentice was nominated by Sandra Rowcliffe

Bob Cartwright was nominated by Larry Rauschenbach

A secret ballot was held and Robyn Prentice was declared a Director

Director #4 - Nominations were the same as above, less Robyn

A secret ballot was held and Grant Fraser was declared a Director

THE 2012 BOARD WILL BE:

- PRESIDENT ROS PRESTON
- VICE PRESIDENT LARRY RAUSCHENBACH
- TREASURER ALEC MACDONALD
- DIRECTOR PAUL ARSCOTT
- DIRECTOR MICHELLE EYLES
- DIRECTOR ROBYN PRENTICE
- DIRECTOR GRANT FRASER
- 7. Appointment of auditor

Mark Wright from AAT Accountants was nominated for this role and had performed the role in 2011 and 2012.

Motion: That Mark Wright be appointed for 2013

Moved: Ros Preston

Seconded: Alec MacDonald

Motion carried.

8. General Business

Ros Preston thanked previous President Peter Smith for his time as well as Craig Simmich Acting CEO who have both since moved on. Ros Preston also thanked the outgoing board members and welcomed the new faces onto the board.

Craig Simmich was concerned that no Brisbane City Squash committee person was on the Board and that he felt that they may not get feedback from Q Squash. Ros Preston assured that all info from Q Squash will be forwarded to Colleen Freeme for distribution to other committee members.

There was concern that there would be no committee member as part of the Q Squash Board after their AGM. Sandra Rowcliffe suggested that if this happens the BSC could possibly nominate reps to replace either Grant or Robyn, but also suggested that it was best to wait and see what the upcoming AGM brings. On the issue of rewriting the Q Squash Constitution it was suggested that we should wait and see what Squash Australia do with the updating of their constitution.

Ros Preston and Alec MacDonald will both be attending the Squash Australia AGM.

Ros mentioned that standing for the Squash Australia two (2) board positions were:-

Steven Bowen WA, Vicki Cardwell Vic, Michelle Martin NSW and Chris Barnes NSW.

Nathan Turnbull spoke about Referees. He said that during assessment there is the requirement that there be 20 decisions in one match to be able to make an assessment, any less than 20 the assessment cannot be considered complete.

Craig Simmich asked that reference copies of Board Meetings be uploaded onto the QSquash website.

There being no further general business the meeting was declared closed at 3.28pm.

Minutes drafted by **Sandra Rowcliffe** Ex-Treasurer - Q Squash Ltd

.....

Ros Preston - President

Q Squash Ltd